What’s in a Signature?

Leo I had to sign some document on behalf of my boss. ( you know the way you sign using the words “For:” or “On behalf of:” then you append your kasignature hapo kando). As I was signing this document, I was amazed when I saw a colleague’s sophisticated signature above to the place where I was supposed to append mine. I thought to my self, “What’s in a signature?” I mean, what does your signature say of you? Okay, Okay I know this sounds cheezy. But really come to think of it. Does your signature portray your character? Does it show any form of professionalism, thoroughness, sophistication or plain simplicity?

I guess you must be wondering what’s all the fuss about signatures that is worth writing about. Trust me, after seeing my colleague’s signature, I felt embarrassed for my own kasignature. You see mine is just a simple inscription composed of a combination of my names and a couple of elliptical strokes running right, left and across, something that my 3rd grade teacher would call “mathogothanio.”(Ooops! Forgive my Greek!!) You know the kind of writing by a 7 year old or is it abstract drawings.

So I went googling about signatures and this is what I found from the most reliable site for majority of us who went through campus or college. I know by now you’ve already guessed it? Yah its Wikipedia. It describes a signature as “a handwritten (and sometimes stylized) depiction of someone’s name, nickname or even a simple “X” that a person writes on documents as a proof of identity and intent.”

What I get from this definition is that a signature gives the signatory an identity. It’s crazy to think that a bunch of inscriptions can represent you and can be used in a court of law. By the way it can also incriminate you or give you access to your chums at the bank. No wonder you can’t access your money from the bank if your signature conflicts with the one they have in their database. But this is creepy and woe unto you if some hacker gets to master your signature.

So as I was saying, I have discovered that there’s more to a signature than meets the paper. I have discovered that a signature speaks louder than the inscriptions we see on paper. There are those that say you are bold and sophisticated. I am telling you one of my pals has one of these signatures and I so envy him coz everytime he drafts proposals and signs off you would think it’s the President’s signature. Such are those signatures that you can hardly forge. You know like that of President Obama or our very own Mr. Uhuru Kenyatta. Yani no matter how hard you try to forge such you just can’t.

There are those like mine which are simple but mark you are hard to forge. The secret lies in their simplicity which makes them unique. Trust me try to forge mine and you will be in for a rude shock. Then there are those that comprise of two or three initials. I tend to think of this to mean that someone is of a mysterious personality. I mean with two or three initials you would be tempted to come up with all sorts of guesses for what the initials stand for. Such signatures say that the signatory has more going on behind the initials. What do you think?

Today as you append your signature on different documents, checks or letters, take time to reflect on what your signature stands for. Have a signatory day!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,286 other followers

Flickr Photos

More Photos
